What are the four main geographical regions of India?

What are the five geographical regions of India?

India is divided into five geographic regions: The Great Mountains, the Northern Plain, the Indian Desert, the Deccan Plateau and the Coastal Plains.

What is the geographical location of India answer?

India is situated north of the equator between 8°4′ north to 37°6′ north latitude and 68°7′ to 97°25′ east longitude. It is the seventh-largest country in the world, with a total area of 3,287,263 square kilometres (1,269,219 sq mi).

What are the 6 geographic regions of India?

India is divided into six physiographic divisions on basis of the varied physiographic features: units as follows: Northern and North-eastern Mountain; Northern Plain; Peninsular Plateau; Indian Desert; Coastal Plains; and Islands.

What is the total geographical area of India Class 9?

Complete Answer:

The total area of India is 3,287,263 square kilometres. It has a land area of 3.28 million km2 which is 2.4% of the world area.

What are the boundaries of India?

India is bounded by the Arabian Sea on its west and south west and the Bay of Bengal on its east and south east and the Himalayan Mountain ranges borders the country on its north. India shares its territorial border with Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: How did the French and Indian War impact the 13 colonies?

Why is India called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

What are the regions of India?

South Asia, subregion of Asia, consisting of the Indo-Gangetic Plain and peninsular India. It includes the countries of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka; Afghanistan and the Maldives are often considered part of South Asia as well.