Quick Answer: How many types of jurisdiction are there in India?

What was the nickname for the British colony of India?

How many jurisdictions are there in India?

There are 24 High Courts in the country, three having jurisdiction over more than one State.

Annexure ‘A’

Name Allahabad
Year 1866
Territorial establishment jurisdiction Uttar Pradesh
Seat Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)

How many types of jurisdiction are there?

Jurisdiction classified into three categories, viz., (1) jurisdiction over the subject-matter; (2) territorial jurisdiction; and (3) pecuniary jurisdiction.

What are 4 types of jurisdiction?

The 5 Types of Jurisdiction That May Apply to Your Criminal Case

  • Subject-Matter Jurisdiction.
  • Territorial Jurisdiction.
  • Personal Jurisdiction.
  • General and Limited Jurisdiction.
  • Exclusive / Concurrent Jurisdiction.

What is the full form of PIL?

Public interest litigation is the use of the law to advance human rights and equality, or raise issues of broad public concern. It helps advance the cause of minority or disadvantaged groups or individuals. Public interest cases may arise from both public and private law matters.

What are the 3 types of courts in the Indian judicial system?

The court system of India comprises the Supreme Court of India, the High Courts and subordinate courts at district, municipal and village levels.

THIS IS FUN:  Who is the Vice General of Indian Army?

What is jurisdiction India?

In simple words jurisdiction can be defined as the limit of judicial authority or the extent to which a court of law can exercise its authority over suits, cases, appeals and other proceedings.

What is Article 32 in Indian Constitution?

Article 32 falls under Part III of the Indian Constitution which includes the Fundamental Rights of the Indian citizens. It allows all the Indian citizens to move to the country’s Apex Court in case of violation of Fundamental Rights.

How many primary types of jurisdiction are there?

Subject-matter jurisdiction

There are three types of subject matter jurisdiction: General Jurisdiction, which means that a court has the ability to hear and decide a wide range of cases. Unless a law or constitutional provision denies them jurisdiction, courts of general jurisdiction can handle any kind of case.

What are the 3 types of jurisdiction quizlet?

– Three types of jurisdiction are 1) subject matter jurisdiction. 2) geographic jurisdiction. 3) hierarchical Jurisdiction. You just studied 18 terms!

How many jurisdiction does the Supreme Court of India has?

As a Court of Record, the Supreme Court can even send a person to jail who may have committed contempt of the court. The scope of powers of Supreme Court to hear and decide cases is called its jurisdiction. The Supreme Court has three types of jurisdictions namely original, appellate and advisory.