Your question: What was the language policy of India write in detail?

What was the language policy of India write in detail Class 10?

Language policy of India:Our Constitution did not give the status of national language to any one language. Hindi was identified as the official language. But Hindi is the mother tongue of only about 40 per cent of Indians. Therefore, there were many safeguards to protect other languages.

What is language policy class 12?

Language policy is a safeguard to the languages. It is one of the important aspects of our Constitution. Under this policy besides Hindi, 21 other languages are recognized as Scheduled Languages by the Constitution.

What is the language policy of India 3?

The three-language formula sought to serve three functions namely, accomodating group identity, affirming national unity, and increasing administrative efficiency. In 1968, the three-language formula was implemented across the country, barring Tamil Nadu that adopted a two-language policy.

What is language policy explain?

Language Policy is what a government does either officially through legislation, court decisions or policy to determine how languages are used, cultivate language skills needed to meet national priorities or to establish the rights of individuals or groups to use and maintain languages.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the price of cow milk in India?

What is the language policy of India and how is it different from language policy of Sri Lanka?

2 Answers. (i) Sri Lanka believes in majoritarianism whereas in India equal rights are given to minorities. (ii) In Sri Lanka, Sinhala is the only official language, whereas in India though Hindi is the official language but along with Hindi, 21 other languages have been recognised as Scheduled Languages.

What are the three languages in the three language formula?

The formula as enunciated in the 1968 National Policy Resolution which provided for the study of “Hindi, English and modern Indian language (preferably one of the southern languages) in the Hindi speaking states and Hindi, English and the Regional language in the non-Hindi speaking States”.

What language policy is followed in secondary school?

In a segment called ‘multi-lingualism, and power of language’, the new National Education Policy (NEP) says “wherever possible, the medium of instruction until at least Grade 5, but preferably till Grade 8 and beyond, will be the home language/mother tongue/local language/regional language“.

How many languages are in India?

121 languages are spoken by 10,000 or more people

Press Trust of India More than 19,500 languages or dialects are spoken in India as mother tongues, according to the latest analysis of a census released this week.

Why is language policy?

Language Policy contributes to the growth of the field by publishing high-quality studies that help build a sound theoretical understanding of the subject area. It presents papers that deal with the widest range of cases, situations and regions.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: Which city is called as Pearl City of India?

What are the types of language policy?

Four major types of language planning are status planning (about the social standing of a language), corpus planning (the structure of a language), language-in-education planning (learning), and prestige planning (image).