Your question: What are the four divisions of India?

What are the main division of India?

Hint: India is mainly divided into 5 physical divisions, such as the northern mountainous region, north Indian plain, peninsular plateau, islands, and the coastal plain.

What are the 6 divisions of India?

Name the major physical divisions of India.

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

What are the four major physical divisions?

The four major physical divisions of North America are the Canadian or Laurentian shield, the Western Mountain System or Western Cordilleras, the eastern highlands or Appalachians Mountains and the central lowlands or Great Central Plains.

How many divisions are there in our state?

Currently, superdistrict administrative divisions exist in 18 of the 28 states and 3 of the 8 union territories.


State/Union Territory Bihar
Division Patna division
Headquarter District Patna
Districts Patna, Nalanda, Bhojpur, Rohtas, Buxar and Kaimur

What are the four major geographical regions in India?

The Indian subcontinent can be divided into four geographical divisions. In this paper, we characterize three of the four divisions; the Northern Plains, the Deccan Plateau, and the Northern Mountains or the Himalayan as regions with dissimilar climatic and physical resources.

THIS IS FUN:  Quick Answer: Which countries give visa free for India?

What are India’s four major physical units?

Plains,islands,mountains and plateaus are the four major physical unit of India….

Why is the Indian subcontinent called so?

– India is sometimes referred to as a subcontinent because it is a separate landmass, not just a country. … – India was once a continent (or a very big island at least). India migrated north due to continental drift and became a part of Asia.

What are geographical divisions?

geographic division. divisional unit within an organization structured on the basis of its operational location.

What are physical divisions?

On the basis of physical features,India can be divided into following six divisions The Northern mountains 2. The Northern Plains 3. The Indian Desert 4. The Peninsular Plateau 5. The Coastal Plains 6.