When was Indian Independence Act passed what was decided with regard to the assets?

When was Indian Independence Act passed?

The 1947 Indian Independence Act [1947 c. 30 (10 & 11.

Indian Independence Act 1947.

Royal assent 18 July 1947
Commencement 15 August 1947
Repealed 26 January 1950 (India) 23 March 1956 (Pakistan and Bangladesh)
Other legislation

What were the provision of Mountbatten Plan?

Lord Mountbatten, the last Viceroy of India, came up with a plan under which he proposed that the provinces be declared independent successor states. The plan was the last plan for Indian independence and included the principles of partition, autonomy, sovereignty, and the right to make the Indian constitution.

What are the clauses of Indian Independence Act?

Two independent dominions, namely India and Pakistan, shall be set up on August 15, 1947 Pakistan was to be comprised of Sind, Baluchistan N.W.F.P, the West Punjab and East Bengal. Rest of the territories were to be included in India.

What is independence of Indian Act Written main provision?

India was to be divided into two sovereign states-India and Pakistan. The responsibilities of the Government of India were to be handed over to Indian leaders. 2. As per the Act there would be a Governor General to be appointed by the Emperor of Britain in each of the sovereign states India and Pakistan.

THIS IS FUN:  Who introduced privatization in India?

What are the salient features of Indian Independence Act 1947?

Salient features of this act ;

  • creation of two sovereign dominions of India and Pakistan.
  • division of Bengal and Punjab among the two newly formed countries.
  • the office of governer general would be set up ,he would represent the British crown.
  • the British authority would be terminated from 15th August 1947.

What was the immediate result of Indian independence?

After the 1930s, the movement took on a strong socialist orientation. The work of these various movements ultimately led to the Indian Independence Act 1947, which ended suzerainty in India, and created Pakistan.

What did the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state about Bengal and Punjab?

Answer: (i) Bengal and Punjab- Both Bengal and Punjab would be divided if so desired by the people. The Provincial Assemblies of the two parts would meet separately representing Hindu majority districts and Muslim majority vote whether they wanted the division of the province or not.

WHO declared Indian independence?

On 15 August 1947, the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru raised the Indian national flag above the Lahori Gate of the Red Fort in Delhi. On each subsequent Independence Day, the incumbent Prime Minister customarily raises the flag and gives an address to the nation.