What are the six racial types found in India?

What are the six racial groups?

The United States is a diverse country, racially and ethnically. Six races are officially recognized: white, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian, black or African American, Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islander, and people of two or more races.

How many types of races are there in India?

The present population of the Indian subcontinent has been divided into four racial groups– the Negritos, the Proto-Australoids, the Proto-Australoids, the Mongoloids, and the Mediterraneans. The Negritos were the first of the racial groups that came to India.

What are the main races in India?

According to Herbert Risley, there are seven racial types in Indian population.

  • The Turk-Iranian:
  • Indo-Aryan:
  • Scytho-Dravidian:
  • Aryo-Dravidian:
  • The Mongol-Dravidians:
  • The Mongoloid:
  • The Dravidian:
  • The Negrito:

What are the various racial groups?

Definitions for Racial and Ethnic Categories

  • American Indian or Alaska Native. …
  • Asian. …
  • Black or African American. …
  • Hispanic or Latino. …
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander. …
  • White.

What is racial diversity India?

The racial diversity is very perplexing. ADVERTISEMENTS: Herbert Risley had classified the people of India into seven racial types. These are- (1) Turko-Iranian (2) Indo-Aryan, (3) Scytho-Dravidian, (4) Aryo-Dravidian, (5) Mongo o- Dravidian, (6) Mongoloid and (7) Dravidian.

THIS IS FUN:  How fast is the Indian economy growing?

What are the 5 races?

OMB requires that race data be collectd for a minimum of five groups: White, Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, and Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander. OMB permits the Census Bureau to also use a sixth category – Some Other Race. Respondents may report more than one race.

What do you mean by racial diversity in India?

Racial diversity refers to people belonging to various races and ethnic groups having different physical characteristics living together in a same state or country.

What are the 3 major racial groups?

The initial classification was implicit in two civil status distinctions: free or slave, taxed or untaxed. Applying these distinctions in the census generated a count of three ancestry groups (European, African, and [untaxed] Native American), which set the foundation for all racial classifications to come.