Quick Answer: Who was ruling India in 2008?

Who was the Cabinet minister of India in 2008?

Cabinet ministers

Portfolio Minister Took office
Minister of Home Affairs P. Chidambaram 30 November 2008
Minister of Finance P. Chidambaram 22 May 2004
Manmohan Singh 30 November 2008
Pranab Mukherjee 24 January 2009

Who was the ruling party in 2009?

The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) led by the Indian National Congress formed the government after winning a majority of seats, with strong results in Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

How many seats Congress won in 2008?


Parties and coalitions Seats
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 110
Indian National Congress (INC) 80
Janata Dal (Secular) (JDS) 28

Who was ruling India in 2007?

The Indian National Congress won by a simple majority. A Congress-led coalition government was sworn in on 1 March 2007 with Okram Ibobi Singh as the Chief Minister.

Who was ruling India in 2010?

The Janata Dal (United) was the largest party in the assembly after the 2005 election, and co-ruled with the Bharatiya Janata Party as part of the National Democratic Alliance. The incumbent chief minister was Nitish Kumar.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: What is the difference between NCR and New Delhi?

Who was ruling India in 2012?

The counting was held on 20 December 2012. The BJP have held a majority in the state since 1995 and went to the election under the leadership of Chief Minister Narendra Modi. The Indian National Congress was the main opposition, but did not specified a chief ministerial candidate.

Who ruled India in 2006?

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M))-led Left Democratic Front beat the incumbent Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front by a margin of 56 seats (out of a total of 140 seats). V.S. Achuthanandan, of CPI (M) was sworn in as the 20th Chief Minister of Kerala, on May 18, 2006.

When did Narendra Modi become prime minister?

Narendra Modi, parliamentary leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, started the first tenure of his prime ministership, after his swearing-in as the 14th Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. 45 other ministers were also sworn in along with Modi.

How long has BJP ruled India?

BJP) is one of two major political parties in India, along with the Indian National Congress. It has been the ruling political party of the Republic of India since 2014.

Who ruled India in 2013?

The BJP emerged as the single-largest party, closely followed by the debutant Aam Aadmi Party. The Indian National Congress party, which governed the state for the last three consecutive terms, finished third.