Question: Who is the governor of India?

Who is the chief minister and Governor of India?

State-wise list of CM and Governor

State Capital Chief Minister
Jharkhand Ranchi Hemant Soren
Karnataka Bengaluru Sri Basavaraj Bommai
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Who is the present lady Governor of India?


S. No. Name State
11 V. S. Ramadevi Karnataka
12 Pratibha Patil Rajasthan
13 Prabha Rau Himachal Pradesh

How many governors are there in India?

The Governor is the chief executive head of the state and works as the representative of the central Government. At present India has 28 state governors and 8 administrators/LG of Union Territories.

Who is governor of state?

Current state governors

Name Title Term
Margaret Beazley Governor of New South Wales 2 May 2019 (2 years, 189 days)
Barbara Baker Governor of Tasmania 16 June 2021 (144 days)
Frances Adamson Governor of South Australia 7 October 2021 (31 days)
Jeannette Young Governor of Queensland 1 November 2021 (6 days)

Who was first governor?

In accordance with the provisions of the Regulating Act of 1773, Warren Hastings became the first governor-general.

THIS IS FUN:  Quick Answer: Why India is a republic give reason?

Who is the CM of all 28 states?

Chief Ministers

State Chief Minister
Andhra Pradesh Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Arunachal Pradesh Shri Pema Khandu
Assam Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma
Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar

Who appoints the governor?

The Governor of a State shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal (Article 155). A person to be eligible for appointment as Governor should be citizen of India and has completed age of 35 years (Article 157).

Who is the first woman Chief Minister of India?

Sucheta Kripalani (née Majumdar; 25 June 1908 – 1 December 1974) was an Indian freedom fighter and politician. She was India’s first woman Chief Minister, serving as the head of the Uttar Pradesh government from 1963 to 1967.

Who is Puducherry CM?

List of chief ministers of Puducherry

Chief Minister of Union Territory of Puducherry
Incumbent N. Rangaswamy since 7 May 2021
Chief Minister’s Office
Style The Honourable (formal) Mr. Chief Minister (informal)
Status Head of Government

Which is the chief minister?

Current Indian chief ministers

State (past chief ministers) Name Ministry
Karnataka (list) Basavaraj Bommai Bommai
Kerala (list) Pinarayi Vijayan Vijayan II
Madhya Pradesh (list) Shivraj Singh Chouhan Chouhan IV
Maharashtra (list) Uddhav Thackeray Thackeray

Who is more powerful governor or CM?

The governor acts as the nominal head whereas the real power lies with the Chief ministers of the states and her/his councils of ministers.