Frequent question: How many states are there in India in 1947?

How many states are there in India in 1950?

The Republic is governed in terms of the Constitution, which was adopted by Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. India comprises 28 States and nine Union Territories.

How many states are there in India in 1945?

He was replaced in June 1948 by Chakravarti Rajagopalachari. At the time of independence, British India consisted of 17 provinces and 562 princely states. The provinces were given to India or Pakistan, in some cases in particular – Punjab and Bengal – after being partitioned.

How many states were there at the time of independence in India?

At the time of the British withdrawal, 565 princely states were officially recognised in the Indian subcontinent, apart from thousands of zamindari estates and jagirs. In 1947, princely states covered 40% of the area of pre-independence India and constituted 23% of its population.

Which is the 17th state of India?

Hilly Areas of Punjab were merged with Himachal Pradesh. Haryana becomes the 17th State.

THIS IS FUN:  Frequent question: How can I go Mumbai to Chennai?

How many states were there in 1947?

29 Indian states. Uttar Pradesh (1947): The state has been a confluence of culture, religions, and art. Initially, the Oudh and Agra regions were united by the British government, calling it the United Provinces. In 1950, it was renamed Uttar Pradesh.

Which state became a part of India in 1974?

Sikkim became the 22nd State of India Vide Constitution(36th Amendment) Act 1975.

How many states formed 1956?

The nine Part A states were Assam, Bihar, Bombay, Madhya Pradesh (formerly Central Provinces and Berar), Madras, Orissa, Punjab (formerly East Punjab), Uttar Pradesh (formerly the United Provinces), and West Bengal.

How many states are there in India in 1990?

As a result of the Act, the country was reorganised into 14 states and six Union Territories. Fourteen states: Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Bombay State, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Madras State, Mysore State, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

What has happened in 1998 in India?

11 May – India conducts 3 underground nuclear tests in Pokhran, including 1 thermonuclear device. … 6 June – The UN Security Council votes unanimously to condemn India and Pakistan for their nuclear weapons tests. 9 June – Over 1,120 people are killed when a cyclone hits coastal areas of the western state of Gujarat.

Which was the first union territory in 1947?

NEW DELHI: For the first time since the categorisation of states ended in 1956 with the States Reorganisation Act, a full-fledged state has become a Union Territory. J&K joined the Indian Union as a state in 1947. Since then, state boundaries in the country have seen major alterations.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: Why do Indians buy unsafe cars?

What happened in the year 1950 in India?

26 January – The Constitution comes into force making India a republic, the day is observed as Republic Day ever since and declares Kashmir and Jammu into the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir, thus Kashmir becomes autonomous within the federation. India becomes the first Commonwealth republic.