Best answer: How many countries are covered by Indian Ocean?

Which countries are in Indian Ocean?


  • Comoros.
  • Madagascar.
  • Maldives.
  • Mauritius.
  • Seychelles.
  • Sri Lanka.

Is Maldives Indian Ocean?

The Republic of the Maldives is an island nation in the Indian Ocean. … The chain of islands is to the south-west of India and Sri Lanka and stretches over 871 km. The islands have a total coastline of 650 km and are spread over 26 atolls with coral beaches.

Does Egypt touch the Indian Ocean?

The Indian Ocean is the third-largest of the oceans of the Planet and it is the youngest one. It stretches for more than 10,000 km between the southern tips of Africa and Australia. … Maps of African countries: South Africa, Mozambique, Madagascar, Tanzania, Kenya, Egypt, Seychelles, Mauritius, Comoros, Somalia.

Does Antarctica touch the Indian Ocean?

The Indian Ocean’s northern coast is shared by Pakistan, Iran, Bangladesh, and India, while Sunda Island (Indonesia), Malay Peninsula, and Australia share the eastern coast. It is bounded to the west by Africa and the Arabian Peninsula and south by Antarctica.

Why is ocean named after India?

The Indian Ocean is named after India because of its strategic location at the head of the ocean from ancient times and its long coastline which is longer than any other country in the Indian Ocean rim.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the limit for Google pay in India?